Why homeschooling was the best decision for my family and how I made it work

Standard

This article really hit home for me. It touches on a lot of the benefits I’ve experienced from homeschooling. This is obviously a very personal choice and an important one and it’s so great to hear from other parents.

image

I was afraid I couldn’t do it or that I wouldn’t be “good enough”, but I realized after beginning homeschooling that I’m the best teacher for my kids. I was worried about money. I’m a single mom who would be only able to work from home. I have a cottage-based cupcake business, but that’s only as orders are placed. I knew I needed to make a stable income to allow me to homeschool. I decided to become a Tupperware consultant and an Independent Thirty-One Consultant. My hours (both how many I work and when) are completely flexible so I can pay the bills while still being able to homeschool my kids. I realized the only thing that would hold me back was my own fear, so I conquered it.
Sure, there are challenges: “me time” being very limited (although getting paid to be a consultant at parties allows me to make my income while maintaining time with real, live grownups!), juggling housework and school and my own working from home, time management, etc. but the rewards are exponentially greater. I get to be involved 100% with my children’s education.

image

image

I don’t need to get one to two sentence reports from teachers in report cards to summarize months of learning or have to limit my time to ask all of my questions about their progress to fifteen minutes of conference time. I know everything they need extra help with and can work with them until they truly “get it”. I can watch them light up as they get to help me come up with learning themes for the week. I get to tailor their schooling to their interests.

image

image

image

One week, we focused on cars. We learned how engines work, who invented the first car, learned to read a speedometer and figure out how many miles over the speed limit our imaginary drivers were going and wrote out tickets to match, went to a classic car museum, designed our dream cars, learned about aerodynamics and drag, worked on spelling car-focused words,  and watched How It’s Made car episodes. The excitement and fun of learning while applying the newly acquired knowledge made for complaint-free school and learning that “sticks”. We covered all of the core academic subjects along with real-world information and applications. Not to mention, my six-year-old was doing multiplication! (And laughing while doing it!)

image

image

He tells me often how much he just loves home school. If there comes a day that he doesn’t, we’ll look into changing it, but I can say so far that this has been the best choice and we’re both enjoying school…together.

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

